top of page
cassiedean13

Next Stop: The Closest Thrift Store

Updated: Jan 29

Discovering how second-hand clothing can be your new go-to


A middle-aged lady looking at clothing on a rack in a store.
Thrifting second-hand

Shopping for clothing shouldn’t be hard. However, for a lot of people, it is, especially when shopping for second-hand clothing.


My goal is to make thrifting less intimidating for beginners, giving them the confidence to go out and do it more, saving money and the earth at the same time.


In this blog, I’ll provide tips and tricks, clothing inspo, explain how to accessorize, and teach you about different thrift stores in Utah. It’s my goal to make it a comfortable and, most importantly, enjoyable journey for you.



A woman carrying a pile of sweaters in her hands.
Second-hand Donations

Tips and Tricks


This is going to be the most important category for you beginners to thrifting. If you feel like you don’t have enough time to spend at the thrift store, especially since finding something you like is never guaranteed, I will teach you how to come to the thrift store prepared.


One of the main tips I’m going to teach you is to think ahead before going to the thrift store. By doing this, by thinking about what pieces you're trying to find, and even creating an inspo board to reference while at the store, you will know which sections to look in and which colors to choose from. It makes it that much easier for you.


I’ll also be teaching you how to dress for your body type. Ever see a girl wearing a pretty lace top that looks like it's made for her and then you try it on, and it looks completely wrong? I’m here to prevent that and make you feel more comfortable in your body. By knowing how to dress for your body, you can also narrow down which sections to look in when thrifting.



6 different body types/shapes and what they look like
Different body types

Clothing Inspiration


It can be really hard to come up with outfits that are creative but that still speak to who you are and your style.


To help this, I will create outfits out of my own clothing that you guys can recreate and reference when thrifting. I’m also going to create boards for different styles. If you like cottage core, then make sure to check out my cottage core board.


Not seeing something that speaks to you, or you need inspiration for a certain event? Text me your suggestions and I’ll incorporate them in next week’s blog! Not sure what style you gravitate towards or what will look best on you? Take this short quiz where you pick out different TV show characters that you like and which colors are your favorite, all in order to figure out your style!


We want to develop your personal style and make you feel, and look, good.



various fall clothing and accessories, mostly brown
Fall outfit inspiration

Accessorizing


There’s a huge difference between simply wearing your clothes and styling them. It’s a factor that oftentimes gets overlooked when people buy clothing, despite how much it elevates fashion.


I will provide how-tos when it comes to accessorizing outfits, and some of my favorite accessorizes to incorporate. For example, I absolutely love including bows. I tie them around my neck, I tie them in my ponytails, I tie them on my belt loops, and I even sometimes tie them on my shoes.


We can’t forget other accessories as well. Accessories such as: head scarfs, sunglasses, bags, socks, hats, glasses, layers.


In this tab, I will discuss the different ways to elevate an outfit with these accessories and more, providing examples and tutorials on how to accomplish it.



a bag, sunglasses, boots, belt, and jewelry
Various accessories

Thrift Store Locations


When we think of thrift stores in Utah, we probably think of the big three:


  1. Savers

  2. Deseret Industries (the D.I., as I’ll mostly refer to it as)

  3. Goodwill.


These three thrift stores have locations all over the state of Utah.


For this reason, I’ll be shopping mostly at these three stores, giving people an idea of how they work, what they look like inside, and where everything is located. This should really help create a level of comfort for beginners.


However, I also intend to analyze and give reviews on other, lesser-known thrift stores, such as Ye Old Catholic Thrift Shoppe located in Cedar City, UT. This will expand everyone’s horizon and give them options when thrifting. Plus, these lesser-known locations are usually less busy and picked over which is a plus.



Savers thrift store
Savers thrift store

Most people I know who don’t thrift tell me the reason they don’t do it is because they’re “not good at it.” I believe that there’s no such thing as being “bad” at thrifting, but that you just need to be taught how to do it effectively.


That’s the main takeaway: you can be taught how to effectively thrift.


It’s not a yes or no, a "you can" or "you can’t" situation, and my blog is going to show you that.


And, while you’re learning how to shop second-hand in a way that’s comfortable and effective for you, I’m also going to teach you how to develop your own personal style along the way.


So, what are you waiting for? Try thrifting out!



Feel free to leave a comment with your suggestions or click here to Subscribe.

Comments


DON'T MISS THE FUN.

Thanks for submitting!

FOLLOW ME ELSEWHERE

  • TikTok
  • Instagram

POST ARCHIVE

bottom of page